Fluoride


Water Fluoridation - For Your Information

Many of you may not know that on Monday, November 18, 2013 the District of Muskoka Council voted to allow local municipalities to decide if they wish to have fluoride remain in their municipal water systems.  We at the Muskoka Ratepayers’ Association are asking that you write your local councillors and request that fluoride remain in the Township of Muskoka Lakes water system.  We understand that in Muskoka many of you are not on municipal services but you do go into “town” and have a glass of water in a restaurant, at the local arena, at a friend’s house or attend school.  Or perhaps, you fill your drinking water jugs from the taps at the municipal offices.

Water fluoridation “is a public health practice that is promoted worldwide by numerous organizations including: The World Health Organization, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Health Canada, Canadian Dental Association, Canadian Public Health Association, Canadian Cancer Society, Royal College of Dental Surgeons of Ontario and Muskoka-Simcoe Dental Society”. (From the Simcoe Muskoka Health Unit web site)

Water fluoridation has NOT been scientifically proven to be dangerous and is an effective way of reducing tooth decay.   It is a proven fact!

If you are in favour of fluoridated water, we suggest that you take a moment and write your local councillors (email addresses provided below) requesting that fluoride remain in municipal drinking water.  Municipalities must inform the District of their decision by January 15, 2014. So PLEASE write your local councillors PRIOR to the next council meeting of December 13, 2013.

Liz Denyar

President

 

Email addresses to contact Councillors, Mayor, and CAO

Ruth-Ellen Nishikawa rnishikawa@muskokalakes.ca

Brad Burgess bburgess@muskokalakes.ca

Donelda Kruckel dkruckel@muskokalakes.ca

Allen Edwards aedwards@muskokalakes.ca

Don Furniss dfurniss@muskokalakes.ca

Gault McTaggart gmctaggart@muskokalakes.ca

Phil Harding pharding@muskokalakes.ca

Jean-Ann Baranick jbaranik@muskokalakes.ca

Ron Brent wrbrent@muskokalakes.ca

Alice Murphy amurphy@muskokalakes.ca

Chris Wray cwray@muskokalakes.ca

 


Letter from Muskoka Ratepayers' Association to Councillors

 

Dear Councillors:

I am writing to you on behalf of the Muskoka Ratepayers’ Association to request that you, as a council, vote to retain fluoridated water in the Township of Muskoka Lakes.

Decaying teeth can be a major health concern.  Dental care is expensive. Water fluoridation is the controlled addition of fluoride to the public water supply.  Fluoridation of public water is a safe, healthy way to prevent tooth decay.  As fluoridated water washes over all surfaces of the teeth, it reduces the rate which enamel dissolves. This is, in the long run, a much less expensive way of maintaining good dental health.

According to the United States Center for Disease Control, fluoridation is considered to be one of the 10 great public health achievements of the twentieth century.

The American Academy of Pediatric Dentists has as part of their strategic plan, the objective to support water fluoridation efforts.  Also, the Academy affirms that fluoride is a safe and effective way to reduce the risk of tooth decay.

 In view of this significant evidence, it makes more sense to raise awareness of the benefits of water fluoridation – NOT discontinue its use.  The MRA respectfully requests that you consider the above when you vote on the water fluoridation issue. Thank you.

Liz Denyar

President

Muskoka Ratepayers’ Association

 

Upcoming Events - Monthly Calendar

MRA - Board Meeting
Nov 25, 2017 9:00am to 1:00pm
TML - Committee of Adjustment
Dec 13, 2017 9:00am to 12:00pm
TML - Committee of the Whole
Dec 14, 2017 9:00am to 12:00pm
TML - Council
Dec 15, 2017 9:00am to 12:00pm
Powered by ECMS Horizons